Colby High School spring athletes are recognized

By JAY KELLEY

Colby Free Press Colby High School coaches, fans and parents gathered at the high school auditorium on Monday night to honor the participants in spring sports.

The booster club handed out their annual awards at the last meeting of the school year. The David Cooper award, for exceptional school spirit, went to Karen Higerd.

Gary Adrian was honored with the community booster award, given to a fan who exemplifies the type of spirit that encourages Colby athletics.

Sportsman and sportswoman were Zach Brown

and Amber Lane. The award not only involved participation in at least two sports in the year, but also grades and attitude.

The booster club also honored the three sport lettermen for the year; Chris Erickson, Bo Kleinsorge, Zach Brown, Brian Williams and Damien Stephens. Spring sports honored were boys' golf and tennis, baseball, softball and

track. Tennis letterwinners were; Phil Schindler, Chris Erickson, David Vic-

tor, Brian Wolf and Matt Murray. Murray was voted outstanding tennis player by his teammates. Rookie of the year was Doug Hurtt.

Most improved was Tanner Holloway and Most inspirational

Murray qualified for state in singles and Victor and Wolf qualified in the doubles. Murray finished fourth, and the team finished sixth.

Tennis participants were; Tanner Holloway, Ian Myers, Doug Hurtt and Chris Barnum.

> Letterwinners for the golf team were; Joey Dinkle, Parker McKee, Justin Schwanke, Chris Veeh, Deni Weiland and

Dason Wente. Participants included; Devlin Dempewolf, William Higerd, Nic Schroeder, Mor-

gan Waterman, Curt Beringer, Joe Cox, Derek White, Collin Bielser, Josh Cox and Jared Helin.

The girls track team has qualified five girls for the state meet this weekend in six events.

Jessie Brenn will be competing in the 100 and 300 hurdles. Brianna Swafford will be in the 200. Ivy Ramsey will be in the 1,600.

Lori Ziegelmeier, Swafford, Breann Hart and Brenn will run the 4x100 relay and Hart, Ziegelmeier, Ramsey and Brenn will run the 4x400 relay.

Girls letterwinners were; Brenn, Erika Erickon, Hart, Becky Lang, Bethanie Linden, Raya Mazanec, Jamie Quenzer, Ramsey, Amanda Seemann, Desiree Sharp, Summar Stephens, Jessica Stephenson,



Summar and Shawn Stephens, along with Claire Schrock, congratulated Gary Adrian on receiving the community booster award from the Colby All-School Booster Club at the Colby High School Spring Sports Awards Ceremony Monday Nigh. Adrian was recognized by the booster club for his dedication to Colby athletics.

ter as track trainer.

Participants included; Desiree Brinev, Karen Davis, Jodi Nicholson and Andrea Siemsen. The most improved award went to Ziegelmeier.

Hardest worker was Amanda Seemann. Rookie of the year was Ivy Ramsey.

Best track athlete was Jessie Brenn.

Boys track is sending eight in seven events. Wade McCoy will run the 100. Zach Brown will high jump and run the 400. Jason Simmering will run the 400. Damien Stephens will run the 200. Adam Smith will throw the discus.

Wade and Brent McCoy, Brown and Stephens will run the 4x100 relay. Stephens, Bo Kleinsorge, Simmering and Brown will run the 4x400.

Zach Baird, Tanner Brown, Zach Brown, Chris Griggs, Nathan Harter, Bo Kleinsorge, Chase Kough, Brent McCoy, Wade McCoy, Keegan Myers, Rusty Raymo, Jeff Reavis, Jason Schwindt, Eric Seemann, Schuyler Sharpe, Simmering, Smith, Stephens, Landon Stover, Shane Stover, Tucker Stover and Brandon Stupka.

JAY KELLEY/Colby Free Press

Participants included; George Aiken, Rocky Baalman, Nick Baden, Cole Cranmer, Jason Erickson, Jay Jones, Theo Kleinsorge, Brandon Mazanec and Todd Ohlrogge.

Simmering was most improved. Bo Kleinsorge was hardest worker. Rookie of the year was Zach Brown, as well as best track athlete. Myers was best field athlete.

Baseball letterwinners were: Jason Swafford, Ryan Arensdorf, Cody Hatfield, Clay Elliott, Jared Cranston, Lloyd Hamme, Chris Gordon, Shiloah Brogan, Josh Houtz, Brian Sulzman, Bruce Arnberger, Brian Williams, Jeff Williams, Carson McKee and Clay Kaiser.

Softball letterwinners were; Amber Lane, Katie Rupp, Kristen Arensdorf. Megan and Melissa Augustine, Dominique Palser, Carla Sloan, Nicol Frahm, Becky Herl, Whitney Adams, Savannah Rupp, Kacie Donn, Alicia Leavitt, Crystal Herschberger and Stephanie Wieland.

Participants included; Tiffany Thomas, Sheena Brown, Karen Higerd, Valerie Vanatta and Marjorie Jacobsen.

Drill team letterwinners were: Lindsey McClure, Shannon Harter, Rupp, Kelsey Strickler, Kara Criswell, Tasha Diederich, Sloan, Tara Phillips, Brenn and Taryn Poling.

Cheerleading letterwinners were Jodi Cranston, Stephanie Wade, Jeannie Jackson, Katie Molstad, Sarah Karlin, Amber Dempewolf, Vanatta and Ashley Denneler.

Free Press Classifieds



425 E. Hill • Colby, KS

the playoffs despite an encouraging recovery from emergency surgery less than two weeks ago.



