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Crossword

Tod The Dinosaur • PR Condron

For Better or Worse • Lynn Johnston

Beetle Bailey • Mort Walker

Zits • Jim Borgman & Jerry Scott

Hagar the Horrible • Chris Browne

Sally Forth • Greg Howard

Garfield • Jim Davis

Blondie • Chic Young

Cryptoquip

Family Circus • Bill Keane

Bidding Quiz
1. Pass. A player who doubles for takeout is not

obligated to bid again if partner makes no more than
a minimum response. It must be remembered that
partner’s forced reply does not promise any strength
whatsoever and, in fact, will often be based on a
weak hand (usually 0-8 points). Consequently, if the
doubler lacks extra values beyond those already
guaranteed by the double, he is expected to pass a
minimum response.

In this instance, there is no good reason to bid
again over one spade. Game is impossible, consid-
ering partner’s failure to identify a promising hand
by making a jump-response or cuebidding the op-
ponents’ suit. A raise to two spades would indicate
greater values than you have, and a bid of two hearts
would imply a better suit and a stronger hand.

2. Two spades. Bearing in mind that partner’s re-
sponse might be based on nothing more than four
small spades, you should still feel reasonably safe
in bidding for eight tricks. Counting the distribution
and trump fit, your hand is worth about 18 points,
which warrants a single raise — but no more.

3. Three spades. A raise to three promises greater
values than a raise to two, and usually shows about
20 points. It invites partner to bid again with a smat-
tering of values, and allows him to pass with a dread-
ful hand.

4. Two hearts. That’s all you can safely bid — even
though you might feel like bidding more. It is true
that you have a bit more than the double and the two-
heart bid indicate, but your prospects for game will
require a voluntary move forward by partner.

You have already indicated substantial values by
showing your hand was too strong for a mere one-
heart overcall. You should let partner do the rest. He
is presumably just as anxious as you are to score a
game.

Rectifying the Count
Let’s say you’re in six clubs and West leads the

king of diamonds. How would you play the hand?
Of course, you can’t see West’s cards, but you’re
entitled to make certain assumptions about them.
For his vulnerable overcall, he probably has five or
six diamonds headed by the A-K plus the guarded
king of spades, and that’s about all you can reason-
ably surmise at trick one.

If you simply ruff the diamond, cash the A-K of
hearts, ruff a heart and draw trumps, you’ll be in
danger of losing two spade tricks. The problem is
to play the hand so as to lose only one spade trick.

The correct play is unusual.
To give yourself the best chance, you should dis-

card a spade on the opening lead! If you do, you
make the slam; if you don’t, you go down. Let’s say
West shifts to a trump at trick two. You win with the
nine, cash two hearts, ruff a heart, ruff a diamond
and play all your trumps, producing this position:

North   S A 7    D Q
West
East S  K J    S 10 9  D A   H J
South  S Q 4  H  Q
You now cash the queen of hearts, and, whatever

West discards, the last three tricks are yours, since
West is squeezed.

The deal is consistent with the general rule gov-
erning squeezes, namely, that declarer must develop
a position where he has all the remaining tricks but
one. After the opening lead, South sees he has all the
remaining tricks but two. He therefore concedes the
first trick — known in bridge jargon as “rectifying
the count” —  in order to bring about the all-but-one
position.


