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Crossword

Beetle Bailey • Mort Walker

Zits • Jim Borgman & Jerry Scott

Hagar the Horrible • Chris Browne

Sally Forth • Greg Howard

Blondie • Chic Young

Cryptoquip

Family Circus • Bill Keane

   A Question of Priorities

Whenever declarer is playing a suit contract, he is
faced with the question of whether or not to start
drawing trumps. Unfortunately, there is no hard and
fast rule to guide him; each case must be decided
strictly on its own merits.

Consider this deal where South was in four spades
and West led the queen of clubs. Declarer won with
the ace and, without giving the matter much thought,
played a trump.

The moment West discarded a heart on the trick,
South wished he could take back his play. But it was
now too late. East cashed his A-K-J of spades, leav-
ing only one trump in dummy to ruff South’s two club
losers, and declarer eventually finished down one.

While it was undeniably unlucky to find East with
all three missing trumps, the fact remains that South
went down in an ice-cold contract. When play began,
his only possible losers were three trumps, and even
if he lost all three of them, he would still make 10
tricks. The one trick he could not afford to lose was a
club.

Since both of his low clubs could be ruffed in
dummy, it was declarer’s responsibility to make sure
that he did so while there were an adequate number
of trumps available for this purpose. No method of
play that jeopardized this goal was acceptable.

Accordingly, at trick two, South should cash the
club king and then ruff a club in dummy. In the ac-
tual deal, East can overruff with the jack and cash his
A-K of trumps, but this does not alter the outcome.
There is still a trump in dummy to take care of South’s
last club, so making game is assured.

 What declarer should recognize at the outset is that
regardless of how the opposing cards are divided, no
ruff or overruff by either opponent can stop him from
scoring 10 tricks if he plays correctly. Only if trumps
are led prematurely is the contract in danger.

Tod the Dinosaur • Patrick Roberts

Baby Blues • Rick Kirkman & Jerry Scott

Mother Goose and Grimm • Mike Peters

   Safety First

 Assume you’re declarer at four hearts and
West leads the spade queen through dummy’s
king. You ruff the third round of spades, and the
only question is how to handle the trump suit.

Let’s say you lead the queen, which gets cov-
ered by the king and ace. When you now play
another trump to your jack, West unfortunately
shows out, and you go down one.

It isn’t difficult to prove that if you played the
hand this way, you mishandled the trumps. The
correct play at trick four is a low heart, not the
queen. As it happens, the low-heart play catches
West’s king and you make the contract, but that’s
only one of the reasons you should lead low to
the ace at trick four.

In considering whether to play the four or the
queen, you should first picture the various ways
the East-West trumps can be divided. If they are
split 3-2, it makes no difference how you initiate
the suit, since you can’t lose more than one trump
trick whatever you do.

If you assume a 4-1 trump division, though, it
is clear that leading low to the ace is the correct
play. Why? Because leading the queen guaran-
tees that you will lose two trump tricks regard-
less of which opponent has the king!

Leading low to the ace wins whenever either
defender has the singleton king, and also in most
cases where East has four hearts headed by the
king. It is true that if West has four trumps headed
by the king, you go down if you lead low to the
ace, but you’d suffer exactly the same fate if you
began by leading the queen.
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