Good scores, attitude bring special reward



Goodland High School students who were awarded Gold Cards gathered in the high school gym before taking off for an early lunch in April. The Gold Card program is

part of the high school improvement program, and the students are being rewarded for having good grades, good attitude and good leadership. Photos by Tom Betz / The Goodland Star-News

Gold Cards awarded fortopefforts

Early lunches are the reward for Goodland High Students who earn Gold Cards, said Connie Livengood of the school's attitude committee.

A total of 33 students have earned Gold Cards this year for good grades, good attitude and good leadership. Gold Card students can take off early for lunch Tuesday through Friday from 11:15 a.m. to 12:30 p.m..

The attitude committee is part of the school improvement plan.

The Gold Card students this year were Erinn Abernathy, Richard Bauman, Robert Benavides, Amy Cebula, Kelsey Leiker, Craig Mason, Derrick Raymer, Simon Wang, Ciara Abbey, Jacob Alander, Kara Angelos.

Daniel Blake, Emily Burkett. Brandon Cowan, Dexter Deeds, Jacob Johnson, Shannon Johnson, Charles Lammers, Grace Langness, David Livengood, Tysen Lofland, Ana McClung, Jeffrey Moore, Abby Murray, Megan Sheldon, Shannon Showalter, Wade Taylor, Drew Wilkens,

Ashley Wing, Joy Winkler, Aubres Winter, Lane Winter and Mallory Younger. Faculty members of the attitude committee are Livengood, Tremon Kizer, Mark Hagerman, Wallace Hansen, Sara Short, Melody Harder, Travis Witman, Duane Unger and Pat Hansen.



state assessment tests given in March. The students were rewarded for their efforts with an early

Over 100 juniors and sophomores gatahered in the high school gym in April for scoring high on the lunch period. The early lunch program is part of the highs school improvement plan, and the students were recommended for the early lunch by the High Expectation Committee at the high school.

High state test scores get special recognition

mores were rewarded with an early lunch in April, for high scores on state assessment tests given in March.

The early lunch was recom-

Over 100 juniors and sopho- students who scored at proficient or above on the tests.

The tests were given online, and 60 percent of the juniors achieved the proficiency level in social sci- Fenner, Daniel Finnell, Jordan ence. On the reading test 56 percent Frazier, Chelsea Gray, Andrea mended by the High Expectations were proficient. Of the juniors 33 Committee of the high school for had proficient scores on both tests. Herl,

Forty-one percent of the sophomores scored proficient or above on the state math and science tests. Of the sophomores 28 were proficient on both tests.

Juniors who got an early lunch were Christopher Baumfalk, Jonathan Beeson, Zachary Breininger, Nichole Buskirk, Katrina Cotter, Wyatt Dautel, Aaron Duell, Alicia Felver, Derek Grieve, Brandon Hatfield, Jase

Koehler, Brett Lalicker, Kaitlin Lee, Julie Leiker, Brady Nelson, Ontizveroz, Samantha Philbrick, Lacy Ridder, Kaleen Rietheck, Jared Robinson, Matthew Rohr,

Megan Rubio, Daniel Schields, Tatum Schultz. Tyler Selbe, Lance Sirtua, Jedediah Snethen, Mark Starr, Megan Stefan, Sara Studer, Melissa Swager, Briana Taylor, Lisha Tedford, Tiffany Thomas, Morgan

Justin Holloway, Justeen Cory Yarbrough and Brandon Zelfer.

Sophomores who scored high on Bryant Nemecheck, Chelsea the tests were Nancy Aguirre, Tyler Anderson, Nicholas Angelos, Whitney Archer, Brett Bahe, Kerri Bellamy, Kaylee Billinger, Sarah Borneman, Brian Boyce, Michael Bryce, Hannah Burkett, Ashley Cebula, Joshua Cech, Amber Cowan,

Mikey Doll, Brandon Douglas, Cody Engel, Taylor Frazier, Ryan Gausman, Josiah Goodley, Jared Hall, Tyler Hilmer, Nathan Linin, Titus, Alex Weis, Janelle Wolak, Kerek Mason, Jena McCall, Mat-

thew Miller, Elizabeth Morris, John Mosbarger, Emily Murray,

Jilliam Parker, Dual Rall, Brett Schields, Lea Shores, Shandel Simon, Michael Smith, Alicia Studer, Chariss Tatman, Nathan Thomas, Landon Williams and Molly Witzel.

Members of the high expectations committee are Gaylene Shank, Linda VanLoenen, Dennis Friedricks, Mary Porterfield, Jon McLean, Gwen Cebula and Richard Schwasinger.