6A THE OBERLIN HERALD Wednesday, August 31, 2005

Cross country team ready for first race of season

son at 4:30 p.m. Thursday at the Norton Invitational.

Coach Dick Ahlberg's 17 runners include three-time letter winner Helm, sophomore. Teryn Grafel, a senior; two-time let-

The Decatur Community High Marietta and Kellen Doeden, se- Wasson; junior Cameron Nedland; cross country team will start its sea- niors, and Aaron Helm and Andy Leitner, juniors; and letter winners Cody Haas and Andy Dempewolf. Zeke Ruzicka, Brent Stallman and

Other runners are seniors Danica Club. ter winners Whitney Beinke, Lora May, Nikki Lincoln and Anne

and sophomores Corbin Sherlock,

The 37th annual Oberlin Invita-Scott Miller, seniors, and Rebecca tional will start at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 27, at the Oberlin Country

Track champions crowned

By MIKE HUGHES

Oberlin Speedway crowned 2005 track champions at its final regularseason race Saturday evening, with the top spot in six of the seven divisions still up for grabs that night.

David Murray Jr. of Oberlin was the only driver to have locked in a title, but he won his race anyway. After winning the second IMCA Modified heat race, Murray worked his way past leader Don Hagan Jr. on lap 9 of the 20-lap feature race and drove away for the win. Hagan, who won the first heat race, held on to the runner-up spot, trailed by Robby Haines, Brandon Hagan and Marty Clark.

Six drivers still had a chance at the IMCA Stock Car championship. Unfortunately for point leader Jason Rogers, he broke a motor in his heat race and fell out of contention. McCook drivers Bill Matson and Bob Chalupa ran 1-2 the first five laps of the 20-lap feature before Josh Hudson of Athol got by for second at the halfway mark. Hudson then took the lead on lap 12 and led the remaining distance for the win. Matson finished second, followed by Cory Struckhoff, Chalupa, and Jason Schoenberger.

When the points were tallied, Hudson and Struckhoff tied for the track championship. Matson and Jason Davis won the two heat races.

Aaron Koch of Cambridge, Neb., picked up the checkers in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Justin Wagner chased Koch the entire distance, even leading one of the 15 laps, but settled for second. Adam Balthazor was third, followed by Kelly Karnopp and Todd Pankonin. Brady Schoen of Downs finished sixth, good enough to clinch the track title. Phil Hinger and Koch won the two heat races.

Brent Moss of Menlo won both the Bomber heat race and feature. but Donald Dodds of Kensington claimed the track championship with a second-place run. Kyle Rohleder finished third.

Joe and Jim Carter of Russell did the same in the Cruiser division by taking the checkers in both the heat race and the main event. Wes and Chuck Eagleburger of Norton finished second in the main event to claim the championship. Rex and Jeanette McClain ran third in the

Max Pollmann of Trenton, Neb., led nine of the 10 laps in the Classic Modified feature, including the final lap, to get the victory. Duke Ebert placed second, followed by Devin Allen, John Werner and track champion Larry Pollmann of McCook. Ebert and Karl Wickizer Balthazor. were first to the checkers in the two

Andrew Richards of Oberlin picked up his first win at his hometown track in the Mini Truck main event. Sarah Murray finished second, good enough to claim the track title. Bruce Hagan ran third.

Budweiser sponsored a King of the Hill event for the IMCA Stock Car class. Josh Hudson won the event to claim the \$100 first prize.

RESULTS Cruisers

Heat: 1. Joe Carter/Jim Carter, 2. Wes Eagleburger/Chuck Eagleburger, 3. Jeff Doty/Brad Doty, 4. Bret Marietta/Brent Stallman.

Feature: 1. Carter/Carter, 2. Eagleburger/Eagleburger, 3. Rex McClain/Jeanette McClain, 4. Marietta/Stallman, 5. Doty/Doty, 6. Jeremy Simmons/Drew Eagleburger.

Bombers

Heat: 1. Brent Moss, 2. Donald Dodds, 3. Kyle Rohleder. Feature: 1. Moss, 2. Dodds, 3. Rohleder.

Classic Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Duke Ebert, 2. Max Pollmann, 3. John Werner, 4. Larry

Heat 2: 1. Karl Wickizer, 2. Loren Pollmann, 3. Michael Brenning, 4. A.C. Werner.

Feature: 1. M. Pollmann, 2. Ebert, 3. Devin Allen, 4. J. Werner, 5. Larry Pollmann, 6. Ayers, 7. Wickizer, 8.

Loren Pollmann, 9. Brenning, 10.

Heat 1: 1. Phil Hinger, 2. Gene Sneath, 3. Kelly Karnopp, 4. Brian

Wagner, 3. Dustin McClurg, 4. Adam

Feature: 1. Koch, 2. Wagner, 3. Balthazor, 4. Karnopp, 5. Todd Pankonin, 6. Brady Schoen, 7. Conness, 8. P. Hinger, 9. Laura Hinger, 10. Brent Schoen (DNF), 11. McClurg (DNF), 12. Sneath (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars Heat 1: 1. Bill Matson, 2. Caleb Peters, 3. Jason Schoenberger, 4. Tvler Hahn.

Chalupa, 3. Josh Hudson, 4. Bryan

Feature: 1. Hudson, 2. Matson, 3. Cory Struckhoff, 4. Chalupa, 5. Schoenberger, 6. Davis, 7. Lariviere, 8. Kelly Ford, 9. Hahn, 10. Peters, Jason Rogers (DNS).

Heat 1: 1. Don Hagan Jr., 2. Brad Wagoner, 3. Brice Riley, 4. Doug Holzmeister.

Brandon Hagan, 3. Jason Schoenberger, 4. Robby Haines.

Holzmeister, 14. Riley (DNF).

Heat: 1. Sarah Murray, 2. Andrew Richards, 3. Bruce Hagan, 4. Chad Brenning.

Feature: 1. Richards, 2. Murray, 3. ning, 6. Delbert Redenour.

Tony Miller, 11. A.C. Werner (DNF). **IMCA Hobby Stocks**

Conness

Heat 2: 1. Aaron Koch, 2. Justin

50 INSTANT REBATE + 75 Circuit City+GIFT CARD

Floor Covering

1801 No. Hwy. 83 McCook, NE 69001 308-345-1952

Heat 2: 1. Jason Davis, 2. Bob

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 2: 1. David Murray Jr., 2.

Feature: 1. Murray, 2. D. Hagan, 3. Haines, 4. B. Hagan, 5. Marty Clark, 6. Schoenberger, 7. Rick Schwab, 8. Jay Schilling, 9. Tyson Garrison, 10. John Fabrizius, 11. Wagoner, 12. Milo Lippelmann, 13.

Mini Trucks

Hagan, 4. Elliott Conard, 5. Bren-

A.P.R. as Low as 2.9%

on all 2005/2006 New Hondas

from Wednesday, Aug. 31 through Tuesday, Sept. 6



McCOOK, NE

210 West 3rd Street Business # 308-345-3600 Toll Free: 877-584-6632

McCook, NE Fax # 308-345-3646

KFNF

Your DCHS Sports Authority

VARSITY FOOTBALL



Listen to the live action of Oberlin Red Devils vs. St. Francis Indians on Friday, Sept. 2

> Pregame - 6:30 p.m. Game Time - 7 p.m.

Head Coach - Trevor Williams





"75 INSTANT REBATE + "125 Circuit City" GIFT CARD

lon.-Fri. 9:00-5:30

Thurs. 9:00-9:00

American Express Visa · Mastercard

from La-Z-Boy and Circuit City

Cash In: Get La-Z-Boy Rebates from '50 to '150

Headed back to school? Take us with you and get all the news



Subscribers whose mailing address is in Decatur, Norton, Rawlins, Sheridan, Thomas and Red Willow counties \$30

Elsewhere in Kansas \$34 Elsewhere in the United States \$37

Students in Kansas \$27 • Students out of state \$30

To order your subscription, fill out the coupon below and send it with payment to: THE OBERLIN HERALD

170 S. Penn Ave. Oberlin, Kan. 67749

Address

City...... State..... Zip......